INDEX

>

ONLINE BROKERAGE REVIEW

Qtrade Direct Investing Review 2022

Updated October 13, 2021

Quick Info

  • Standard Equity Commission
    $8.75
  • Best Commission Price
    $6.95
  • Minimum to Open Account
    $0
  • Maintenance/Inactivity Fees
    $25/Quarter
  • Commission-free ETF Trading
    Yes (100+ selected Canadian and U.S. ETFs)
  • Young Investor Offer
    Yes (Age range: 18-30)
  • Compare to Another Brokerage

HIGHLIGHTS

5.0/5 (3)

Qtrade Direct Investing allows clients to trade stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, and options. Qtrade is part of a small group of online brokerages that offer commission-free ETF trading on select ETFs. Click here for a detailed review of their commission-free ETFs.

Qtrade Direct Investing Full Review

What Account Types does Qtrade Direct Investing offer?

+

    Registered Accounts

    Non-Registered Accounts

Account Fees & Requirements for Qtrade Direct Investing

+

    Registered Accounts

    Non-Registered Accounts

Trading Commissions & Fees provided by Qtrade Direct Investing

+

Qtrade Direct Investing Rankings & Reviews for 2022

+
  • Sorry, no data is available.

How can I contact Qtrade Direct Investing customer support?

+

Qtrade Direct Investing Downtime Report

Qtrade Direct Investing down? Submit an incident report using our exclusive online brokerage outage tracker and view reported incidents from other users.

Click here to view current Qtrade Direct Investing Downtime Report

What do people think of Qtrade Direct Investing?

DougQtrade
QtradeAMA
2/17/2022
Qtrade Direct Investing doesn't loan out shares in a registered account, as they are segregated.
ShavedMyBallsForTh1s
GME
1/22/2022
Just a heads up, QTrade Direct Investing is significantly increasing their fees to DRS effective March 31/2022. Stop procrastinating, DRS now!!
Funzombie63
Superstonk
9/17/2021
Is this a one time account setup fee or a fee incurred each time I want to transfer in? Any idea about the transfer fee from Qtrade Direct Investing?
bluenose777
PersonalFinanceCanada
7/5/2021
<My bank is partnered with Qtrade Direct Investing, which is hands on, but after reading online, Qtrade has Questwealth Questwealth portfolios are a Questrade, not QTrade, product. <Do you have any experience with Questwealth? No personal experience but I know that it is very low cost robo-advisor. The reason I didn't include it with the ones I named is because their portfolios are actively managed. If you think that using a robo-advisor that is partnered with your bank will help you develop beneficial investing habits (eg. making regular contributions and ignoring the markets) it might be a good place for you to start investing.
emmajeanrose
PersonalFinanceCanada
7/5/2021
Thank you so much for all this information. My bank is partnered with Qtrade Direct Investing, which is hands on, but after reading online, Qtrade has Questwealth which is the robo advisor they offer. I'm fairly certain I want to set up an ETF portfolio. Do you have any experience with Questwealth? I plan on discussing it with my bank advisor but I'm trying to be reticent of the fact that they will try to steer me towards the options which will make them the most money.
TheNismoDrift
Superstonk
6/30/2021
Thanks for letting me know. I Sent customer support a message to see what they'd say, this is what i got back "Hi David, Thank you for your email to Qtrade Direct Investing. We don't do CFD at all. You own the shares. To help you with common questions be sure to visit our website for Frequently Asked Questions. Please get back to us if we can assist further. Regards, Christopher Wareing Investment Representative T 1.877.787.2330 | F 778.331.8891 | E [email protected] Suite 700, 1111 West Georgia St, Vancouver, BC V6E 4T6
SparxTrading
CanadianInvestor
5/13/2021
There are 15 (for now) online brokerages in Canada and depending on how you define 'better' there are definitely alternatives to Wealthsimple and BMO InvestorLine that have better commission pricing and/or features. Depending on your age, you can also get access to lower commission pricing at certain firms (like Qtrade Direct Investing has young investor (>30) pricing at $7.75 per trade and they have some popular commission-free ETFs). For bank-owned online brokerages, National Bank Direct Brokerage has $4.95 per trade for young investors with 10 free trades per year and $6.95 for standard - they also have a promo for 100 commission-free trades going on at the moment too. BMO InvestorLine often gets decent feedback but there are other bank-owned brokerages that offer lower pricing. Other banks, like Scotiabank, have banking packages (e.g. Ultimate) that link to their online brokerage (in this case Scotia iTRADE) and provide a certain number of free trades per year (currently 10 free in year 1 and 5 free per year in year 2 onwards).
morenewsat11
CanadianInvestor
5/11/2021
No link to survey yet, rankings below. < Surviscor said investors should be aware that a trading fee of zero may not tell the whole story. “Simply put, there is no free lunch in life and if there is no commission cost, then there are fees being made somewhere else,” it said in a release.   < <Brokerages offering no-fee trading to some of their clients are likely making up for it with higher foreign exchange rates, delayed market data or by sending trades to order-flow providers that may not provide the best execution price, it said. As an example of the importance of real-time market data, it cited this spring’s frenzy in trading of GameStop Corp. shares, saying a 15-minute delay in the share price displayed to an investor “could have meant hundreds of dollars in price changes” and easily cost an investor many times more than a typical trading fee * National Bank Discount Brokerage: 92 per cent * Wealthsimple Trade: 85 per cent * Desjardins Online Brokerage: 82 per cent * HSBC InvestDirect: 76 per cent * CIBC Investor’s Edge: 75 per cent * Qtrade Direct Investing: 60 per cent * RBC Direct Investing: 53 per cent * Scotia iTrade: 53 per cent * Laurentian Bank Discount Brokerage: 53 per cent * TD Direct Investing: 53 per cent * BMO InvestorLine: 52 per cent * Virtual Brokers: 50 per cent * Questrade: 45 per cent * Canaccord Genuity Direct: 42 per cent * Interactive Brokers: 25 per cent